Manual Database Delete of Project

Applies to:

QC 11+

Issue:

We are beginning a major clean-up effort to remove very old projects in Quality Center.

Due to some technical issues, we cannot use the Site Admin consoles to delete the projects; many of them are so old they cannot be updated to QC11 in order to be deleted, and many of them are also pointing to old hardware and databases that no longer exist. All of the projects are either inactive and cannot be activated, or they have been removed from the console but exist in the database.

We have planned to co-ordinate the deletions by bringing down QC and deleting both the project folder in the Repository and the project database in the QC database. We have the following questions about using this method:

1. FTP is disabled on the server (port 21) so the deletions must occur directly. Other than the project folder and the project database, is there any other reference to the projects that would need to be modified?

2. Do the deletions of the file folders and the databases have to occur at the same time, or can the file folders be deleted one evening and the project databases be deleted another evening?

3. If #2 above is possible, are there any repercussions in the way QC works in the interim between the deletion of one set of data and the other?

4. What determines whether the Site Admin console "sees" the projects, and what deletion - folder or database - removes the project from the console?

Steps:

1. FTP is disabled on the server (port 21) so the deletions must occur directly. Other than the project folder and the project database, is there any other reference to the projects that would need to be modified?

* Delete the row on the Site Admin "Projects" table that corresponds to the project being deleted. Unless this is done, the project will continue to be displayed on the Projects tab in Site Admin.

2. Do the deletions of the file folders and the databases have to occur at the same time, or can the file folders be deleted one evening and the project databases be deleted another evening? 

* They can be deleted at the same or at different times - no issue either way.

3. If #2 above is possible, are there any repercussions in the way QC works in the interim between the deletion of one set of data and the other?

* If the question is, are other projects affected if #2 is done (file system and db aren't deleted at the same time), then no - it does not affect other project operation.

4. What determines whether the Site Admin console "sees" the projects, and what deletion - folder or database - removes the project from the console?

* See answer in #1 … It’s the presence of the row for the project in the Projects table in the Site Admin DB that causes the project to show in Site Admin

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk